Baltimore Orioles to host Autism Awareness Day

The Baltimore Orioles announced last week that they’ll be hosting Autism Awareness Day at Camden Yards when they host the Boston Red Sox on Sunday, April 23rd at 1:35 PM. Discounted tickets are available at the link I provided above, and $5 of every ticket sold will benefit Autism Speaks. Incidentally, Autism Speaks will also be participating in the first pitch ceremony that afternoon.

Rarely to I get personal in this column because folks don’t come here to read about my personal life. However this is a cause near and dear to my heart. Autism is in my family, and it’s a cause for which I feel very strongly should get as much funding from government agencies as possible. And quite often when I make my voting decisions in November, I look at candidates’ views on funding for issues such as this.

So on behalf of my own family, I sincerely appreciate the Orioles bringing awareness to autism. I would submit that at this point it’s something that’s already well known in the public eye, however there can never be enough awareness or funding for research for something along these lines. Every little bit helps.

Incidentally it’s also something that’s touched the extended Orioles’ family. Hall of Famer Jim Palmer has a stepson who’s autistic, and former Oriole B.J. Surhoff has a son with autism. So the Orioles perhaps more than any other franchise recognize the impact that this has on families.

So nevertheless, if you come to the game on April 23rd, know that part of your ticket will go to autism research. And on behalf of my own family, thank you.

Leave a Reply

